## West Liberty University Board of Governors

# Minutes October 20, 2021

### Attendance:

Jack Adams, Michael Baker, Arlene Brantley, Richard Carter, Thomas Cervone, Jamie Evick, Ryan Glanville, MacKenzi Jones, Rich Lucas, David McKinley, Jason Metz, Stephanie Shaw

### Administration/Faculty/Staff:

Mary Ann Edwards, W. Franklin Evans, Jason Koegler, Rebecca Little, Tyler Madden, Alan Olson, Shemrico Stanley, Maureen Zambito

### I. Call to Order/Roll Call/Quorum and Mission Statement

Chair Lucas called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. and a quorum was established.

### II. Executive Session

### A. Personnel Matter

On motion by Richard Carter and seconded by Jack Adams, pursuant to WV Code §6-9A-4, it was unanimously adopted by the West Liberty University Board of Governors to move to executive session at 4:04 p.m.

On motion by David McKinley and seconded by Michael Baker, the Board rose from executive session at 6:00 p.m. and reconvened. No action was taken during the executive session.

# III. Actions Emanating from Executive Session

Chair Lucas asked for a motion for termination of the president. A motion was made by Richard Carter and seconded by Jason Metz. The motion failed by a vote of 7-5.

Chair Lucas then motioned to place Dr. Evans under disciplinary actions, stating that "Evans will report directly to the Board of Governors regarding this discipline. We will exclude our internal Human Resources Department from this action. Detailed items will be developed with the assistance of the Higher Education Policy Commission Human Resources department. The Board of Governors will meet and decide all disciplinary actions."

On motion by Rich Lucas and seconded by David McKinley, it was unanimously adopted by the West Liberty University Board of Governors to develop detailed disciplinary items with the assistance of the WV Higher Education Policy Commission Human Resources department.

### IV. Adjournment

On motion by David McKinley and seconded by Ryan Glanville, the meeting adjourned at 6:09 p.m.

Richard Lucas	
	Chair
Jamie Evick	
	Secretary