Minutes November 3, 2021

Attendance:

Jack Adams, Richard Carter, Thomas Cervone, Jamie Evick, Ryan Glanville, MacKenzi Jones, Rich Lucas, David McKinley, Jason Metz, Stephanie Shaw

Unable to Attend:

Michael Baker, Arlene Brantley

Administration/Faculty/Staff:

Mary Ann Edwards, W. Franklin Evans, Rebecca Little, Tyler Madden, Alan Olson, Sean Ryan, Maureen Zambito

I. Call to Order/Roll Call/Quorum and Mission Statement

Chair Lucas called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and a quorum was established.

II. Executive Session

A. Personnel Matter

On motion by Richard Carter and seconded by Jamie Evick, pursuant to WV Code §6-9A-4, it was unanimously adopted by the West Liberty University Board of Governors to move to executive session at 3:02 p.m.

On motion by Ryan Glanville and seconded by Mackenzi Jones, the Board rose from executive session at 4:47 p.m. and reconvened. No action was taken during the executive session.

III. Actions Emanating from Executive Session

Chair Lucas read the following into the record:

"According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the definition of censure is an 'official strong criticism and severe disapproval.' This public censure will be placed into the permanent record of the minutes of the Board of Governors meeting," said Chairman Lucas.

"The Board has consulted with the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission (HEPC). Its guidance and experience have been invaluable. The decision to censure President Evans rests solely with the West Liberty University Board of Governors."

"The BOG listened to students, alumni, faculty senate, staff, WLU Foundation, administration and other stakeholders. The BOG now believes it is time for West Liberty University to move forward and face the many challenges that all universities across the country are dealing with."

Chair Lucas continued with the following Resolution:

Board Resolution of West Liberty University Public Censure of President W. Franklin Evans

Whereas, on October 4, 2021, the Board of Governors of West Liberty University received, from Faculty Senate, an allegation or allegations of plagiarism against President W. Franklin Evans; and

Whereas, the Board of Governors conducted its due diligence reviewing the allegations and sought the advisement of West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission; and

Whereas, the Board of Governors recognizes the seriousness of President Evans' neglect to cite sources in his speeches and/or academic presentation and disapproves of his neglect and finds that his actions and omissions were academically irresponsible; and

Whereas, the Board of Governors will develop with President Evans the goals and actions which rebuild the trust and reunifies the campus community and a committee made up of board members will oversee the rebuilding process and evaluate the progress of President Evans; and

Whereas, the Faculty Senate requests that the West Liberty University Board of Governors direct President Evans to work with the Faculty Senate Policy Committee to craft and public a formal policy for academic integrity that applies to all WLU employees; and

Whereas, President Evans supports transparency, accountability, and the highest professional and academic standards in the Office of the President of West Liberty University;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Governors of West Liberty University:

That the Board of Governors of West Liberty University hereby publicly reprimands and censures President W. Franklin Evans; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of the resolution administering this censure, duly passed and signed by the chair of the Board of Governors, be forwarded to President W. Franklin Evans and included as part of the President's record for annual evaluation purposes.

Richard A. Lucas, chair West Liberty University Board of Governors November 3, 2021

On motion by Rich Lucas and seconded by David McKinley, it was unanimously adopted by the West Liberty University Board of Governors to publicly censure President W. Franklin Evans.

IV. Adjournment

On motion by Mackenzi Jones and seconded by Jamie Evick, the meeting adjourned at 5:53 p.m.

Richard Lucas

Chair

Jamie Evick

Secretary