## Minutes West Liberty State College Board of Governors Telephone Conference Call Tuesday, May 14, 2002

## **ATTENDANCE:**

**Board Members**: Brad Blair, Debbie Boger, Jim Frum, John Gompers, Roseanna Keller, Larry Miller, John Moore, and Will Turani **Unable to Attend**: John Cole, Derek Ennis, Dan Joseph, and Keith Kaczor **WLSC Administration**: Richard Owens, Marsha Krotseng, and John McCullough

 Call to Order: Chairman Gompers convened the special telephone conference call meeting of the West Liberty State College Board of Governors at 8:00 am. The sole purpose of this meeting was to consider the proposal to offer a collaborative Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Degree Program with an emphasis in nursing education. This program will be offered in collaboration with Marshall University, and it represents the second collaborative degree program developed as a result of Senate Bill 653. This program leads to a very marketable credential. The target audience is the Northern Panhandle, with courses to be offered at West Liberty's Warwood Center. About 25 students are expected to enroll as a cohort, and the program will take two or two and one-half years to complete. West Liberty faculty will teach 5 or 6 and Marshall faculty will teach 6 or 7 of the required courses. Two of the Marshall courses will be offered through distance education. The major cost of the program is in personnel, and all costs will be covered by the revenue produced. This program has been unanimously approved by West Liberty's curriculum committee and faculty senate. Although Board members John Cole and Keith Kaczor were unable to participate in the meeting, both have expressed their support for moving forward with this program.

## **ACTION ITEM:**

Resolved, That the West Liberty State College Board of Governors approves the collaborative Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Degree Program to be offered by Marshall University and West Liberty State College. A motion to approve this motion was made by Mr. Blair and seconded by Ms. Keller; motion passed unanimously.

2. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 8:14 am.

John E. Gompers:\_\_\_\_\_

Chairman

Debra J. Boger:\_\_\_\_\_

Secretary